Batch validator

A place to ask questions and get help. Be the first on your block to post ...

Batch validator

Postby jskean » Wed Oct 07, 2009 12:56 pm

http://validator.unl.edu/batch?uri=http ... date=false

Last year, this would check my entire site but now it isn't working for me.
Neither does the linked "legacy validation system".
jskean
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2007 3:26 pm
Location: 502 Hamilton Hall 0304

Website link checker

Postby jskean1 » Wed Dec 16, 2009 6:09 pm

I learned at the 12/15/09 WDN meeting that the batch validator fails when it finds a broken link. A tool to find bad links is "Xenu's Link Sleuth". The name comes from the author's strong feelings about Scientology, but that isn't relevent to the functionality of the software.

http://home.snafu.de/tilman/xenulink.html

Sorry, OS-X users - it is for Windows only.

I've used it for years and I like what it does.
Give the starting point in complete form - "http://site.unl.edu/" or "http://site.unl.edu/subsite/"

Don't omit the "http://" or the final "/".
Unselect "Check external links".
Under "more options", chose as few functions as you need - I prefer "ordered by page".
When I want to find orphan pages, I select that by itself and do a new run.
If a troubled site causes time-outs use fewer threads. A clean site checks faster with more threads.

It helps to have a fast connection and a reasonably powerful computer. When I tried checking a 5,541 URL site using a Pentium 4 WinXP desktop with 1GB ram, it choked. A low-end core2 duo Win7 notebook with 4GB ram did it in 47 seconds.
jskean1
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Dec 12, 2007 9:36 am

Postby MarkHiatt » Thu Dec 17, 2009 9:54 am

Macintosh users can press ⇑[F8] in Dreamweaver to look for dead links.
=MH=
MarkHiatt
 
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon Jul 26, 2004 3:09 pm
Location: '501' Building - Room 123.1

Batch Validator Broken

Postby dsockrider » Fri Feb 05, 2010 12:04 pm

I tried validating pages on the batch validator, but it's not working.

http://validator.unl.edu/process.php?ur ... idate=true

1. First of all, it says Click "Start" ....There is no "Start" button.
2. When I press 'Validate (all), it says, "100% (View results), I click (View results) and it goes back to 0% with no validated pages listed.
dsockrider
 
Posts: 189
Joined: Fri Dec 16, 2005 10:37 am
Location: Engineering


Return to Help & Assistance

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron